Leave a comment

Dobos cake – Dobos torta

Once upon a time…

My love with Dobos cake began in a wedding party when I was a little girl. When the time came, the wedding cake was carried around and the slices were passed from hand to hand. When I received my plate and saw the splendid slice on it, I suddenly fell in love. The nicely lined up layers, the chocolate filling and the hard caramel topping…

I think Dobos cake is my favorite one. So to test my blowtorch (my boyfriend gifted me) of course I chose this recipe. This was a test of my cake tin as well. (See Stéphanie cake recipe.) Both did well, but the proper regulation of the gas flame need to be practiced.

This happened a little more than a year ago. While enjoying the last days of the summer holiday, I applied for a job. I spent my last semester of Masters and the only thing I had to do was to write my thesis. So working full time wouldn’t mean a problem. But back to the story: I was hard at work on caramelizing the sugar with the blowtorch when my phone rang. The company called me in for an interview. Since then I work there as a civil engineer and I enjoy it.

Ingredients (6 layers, baking pan 25 cm in diameter):

  • 6 eggs
  • 12 dkg (4.2 ounces) icing sugar
  • 12 dkg (4.2 ounces) flour
  • 20 dkg (7 ounces) butter
  • 10 dkg (3.5 ounces) chocolate for tart
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1 teaspoon butter
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • sugar as needed for topping

Instructions:

  1. Beat egg whites until stiff.
  2. Whip together the egg yolks and the icing sugar.
  3. Gently stir in the whipped egg whites.
  4. Add the flour, one spoon at a time. Mix to combine.
  5. Preheat oven to 356°F (180°C).
  6. Put bakery paper onto the bottom plate of the baking pan, grease it with butter and strew it with flour.
  7. Pour 4-5 tablespoon of mass onto the plate, smooth it (1st layer of 6).
  8. Bake 10 minutes, then cool it down on a cooking grate to prevent sweating.
  9. Then grease the bakery paper with butter and strew it with flour again and bake the 2nd layer and then the others.
  10. While the layers are relaxing, make the cream.
  11. Whip the melted butter.
  12. Heat the chocolate with 1 tablespoon milk and 1 teaspoon butter. Stir constantly until combined.
  13. Pour the chocolate cream into the whipped butter with 2 tablespoons sugar. Stir until combined.
  14. Layer (and cover) the cake, except the top layer.
  15. Slice the top layer (12 slices).
  16. Caramelize the sugar on the slices, one slice at a time (I used my blowtorch).
  17. Decorate the top of the cake with the slices.
  18. Put the cake into the fridge for a while.

Printable version

“Cake bar” cake Leisurely “No meat” Sweet Sütibár Édes torta “Hús nélkül” Ráérős
Questions and comments – Kérdések és hozzászólások

