Stéphanie cake recipe

Stéphanie cake

Recipes

Stéphanie cake

I desire a little sweet

As I am so lazy today, I didn’t do the shopping. However I must eat some sweet, so I have to look around what’s in the house. Of course there is no milk and I have run out of baking powder too… Let’s search for a recipe without milk and baking powder.

When I almost gave up, a Dobos cake recipe suddenly appeared. No milk, no baking powder. Perfect! I have baked this cake once, it was a memorable experience. I tested my blowtorch (a gift from my boyfriend), my new cake tin and the icing on the cake was a telephone call about my new job. So it will be another story.

To be as fast as possible, I chose the recipe of Stéphanie cake (very similar to Dobos cake) and I’ve simplified the design of the cake: I used my small baking pan, I baked 3 layers and I didn’t cover the cake.

Serving Stéphanie cake How to layer Stéphanie cake
Layers of Stéphanie cake Preparing the baking pan

Recipe

Yield: 3 layers, 18 x 25 cm baking pan

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 6 dkg sugar
  • 6 dkg flour
  • 10 dkg butter
  • 10 dkg icing sugar
  • 1 tablespoon bitter cocoa powder

Instructions:

  1. Beat egg whites until stiff.
  2. Whip together the egg yolks and the sugar.
  3. Gently stir in the whipped egg whites.
  4. Add the flour, one spoon at a time. Mix to combine.
  5. Preheat oven to 180°C.
  6. Put bakery paper into the baking pan, grease it with butter and strew it with flour.
  7. Pour 4-5 tablespoon of mass into the baking pan, smooth it (1st layer of 3).
  8. Bake 10 minutes, then cool it down on a cooking grate to prevent sweating.
  9. Then grease the bakery paper with butter and strew it with flour again and bake the 2nd layer and then the 3rd.
  10. While the layers are relaxing, make the cream.
  11. Melt the butter, add the icing sugar and the cocoa powder, whisking just until combined.
  12. Finally, layer the cake.

Recipes

2 thoughts on “Stéphanie cake

Please, do not hesitate to leave a comment. I would be more than happy to read it. (details are optional)

